What is meal damage in fortnite?

Melee damage in Fortnite is done by hitting an enemy player or NPC with your Harvesting Tool aka Pickaxe. This is generally pretty difficult, because you will need to get up close to another character and hit them. Each swing will deal 20 damage to the enemy if you land it on them.