When using microscopes what are the two variables that matter the most?

When using microscopes, two variables matter the most: magnification and resolution. Resolution is the ability to distinguish between (tell apart) two or more objects that are close together. A light microscope passes light through a specimen, and creates a magnified image using lenses.