How do you open a stuck jar?

Hold the spoon in one hand and the jar firmly in the other. ... Press up with the spoon to loosen the lid. If the seal does not break, rotate the jar and repeat, pressing up and back with the spoon until you hear a pop. Let go of the spoon and twist the lid off.