What do americans call a dummy?

Americans usually call a dummy a pacifier. This is basically the same as a dummy. The dummy (or pacifier) is usually an oversized plastic moulded mouth piece which has a rubber teat at the front of it for putting into the baby's mouth to calm the baby.