Who invented hot water?

In 1868 Benjamin Waddy Maughan invented the 1st domestic water heater. It was somewhat dangerous because there was no flue to remove heated gases from the bathroom. His invention influenced the work of a Norwegian Edwin Ruud who in 1889 Invented the first automatic storage tank type gas water heater