How do you purr?

According to Scientific American, purring begins in a cat's brain when a neural oscillator sends intermittent signals to the vocal cords, or laryngeal muscles. This causes the muscles to vibrate between 25 and 150 Hertz, separating the vocal cords into the unique vibrato that we know as the purr.