Who built colchester castle?

Construction of the castle began in 1076, probably under the supervision of Gundulf, Bishop of Rochester who built the White Tower at London. The Normans built the castle over the ruined Roman Temple of Claudius, built when Colchester was the first Roman capital of Britain.