When was blue tack created?

Blu Tack was created by a sealant developer around 1970, as an accidental by-product of an attempt to develop a new sealant using chalk powder, rubber and oil. Originally Blu Tack was white, but research showed fears that children may mistake it for chewing gum, so a blue colouring was added.