How does the american school system work?

You are required to go to school between the ages of six and 18 in what are called grades, which run from 1st through 12th. Primary, or elementary, education lasts until 5th grade, middle school or junior high school covers 6th through 8th grade, followed by secondary education in 9th-12th grades.