What is a voice button?

My mother has a voice button as she had cancer in her larynx so now cancer is gone but she has a permanent hole called a stoma and has no speech unless she presses the button that's in her neck and is how she breathes and presses it to direct the air to speech! Google laryngectomy and stoma (hole)