What is a venator class star destroyer?

The Venator-class Star Destroyer, or Venator-class cruiser, also known as the Jedi cruiser, Republic cruiser, Republic attack cruiser, or Republic Star Destroyer, was a line of wedge-shaped cruiser-classed Star Destroyer in the navies of the Galactic Republic and its successor Galactic Empire.