What's the difference between cod liver oil and omega three?

Omega 3 is the name for a type of polyunsaturated fatty acid that has a distinctive chemical structure. Cod liver oil is a food supplement, it is a source of 2 of the Omega 3 fatty acids as well as containing vitamins A and D.