Who is mr. bell?

The character of PE teacher Steve Bell, played by child star Paul Nicholls, was last seen in the second series of Ackley Bridge. He left the series after a motorcycle accident on the Thai island of Koh Samui which saw him stranded at the bottom of a waterfall for three days nearly killing him.