What does it mean to be catfished?

Catfishing is a deceptive activity where a person creates a fake identity on a social networking service, usually targeting a specific victim for abuse or fraud. The practice may be used for financial gain, to compromise a victim in some way, or simply as forms of trolling or wish fulfillment.