What does channeling mean in minecraft?

Channeling in Minecraft is an enchantment that can be placed on a trident to summon lightning. The maximum level of enchantment is level 1 but it's justified because the same purpose will be served at a higher level. This is a fun enchantment that makes the player feel secured but not over empowered