How many volcanoes are in the sea?

The total number of submarine volcanoes is estimated to be over 1 million (most are now extinct), of which some 75,000 rise more than 1 km above the seabed. Hydrothermal vents, sites of abundant biological activity, are commonly found near submarine volcanoes