What is an unstressed vow?

Unstressed vowels are vowel sounds that are hard to hear when we say a word out loud. Because we don't stress these vowels, it can be easy to miss them out when we're spelling! For example: when we say the word dictionary we often pronounce it more like 'dictionree'. The 'a' is an unstressed vowel.