Is ireland part of the u. k.?

Northern Ireland is part of the UK and was created in 1921, when Ireland was partitioned between Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland by the Government of Ireland Act 1920. The Republic of Ireland remains and independent sovereign state in its own right.