What is a q. l. e. d. t. v.?

The Q in QLED stands for quantum dot. These tiny dots form a layer in front of the backlight and create the colours you see on screen. Most TVs are LCD and use liquid crystals. Quantum dots take the place of these crystals. Samsung pioneered the technology and debuted it in 2016.