What does aqua affinity do in minecraft?

The Aqua Affinity enchantment speeds up how fast you can mine blocks underwater. It basically makes mining underwater the same speed as mining on land. You can add the Aqua Affinity enchantment to any helmet or leather cap using an enchanting table, anvil, or game command.