What are the coordinates for diamonds in minecraft?

Diamonds can be found between the Y-coordinates 5 and 16, though they appear most often between layers 5 and 12. You can check your Y-coordinates by opening your map (console and Pocket Edition), or by pressing F3 (PC) or Alt + Fn + F3 (Mac).