How do people make sweets?

Sweets, or in America, they are called candy. Are made by dissolving sugar in water or milk to form a syrup, which is boiled until it reaches the desired concentration or starts to caramel ize. The type of sweet depends on the ingredients and how long the mixture is boiled.