What's the difference between compost and top soil?

Compost is mostly organic material formed from decayed plants. Properly made compost is sterile as the heat generated by composting destroys most micro organisms. Soil is a mixture of sand and clays plus the remains of plants. Good soil supports a community of active micro organisms.