Why do we have five toes?

Most of our anatomy comes from random choice through evolutionary adaption. It's hard to tell apart what was necessarily useful for survival, or evolutionary byproducts. Therefore, there is no real answer as to why we have five toes, but it's probably because it was useful to survival at some point.