Why is sodium chloride a solid at room temperature?

It contains positively charged sodium and negatively charged chloride ions bound by very strong electrostatic force of attraction. It forms a giant lattice due to the strong ionic force of attraction between the similar molecules, so they require huge amounts of energy to break those forces.