What type of animal is crash bandicoot?

He is a Bandicoot. They are a group of more than 20 species of small to medium-sized, terrestrial marsupial omnivores in the order Peramelemorphia. They are endemic to the Australia–New Guinea region, including the Bismarck Archipelago and, marginally, in Indonesia (Seram).