Who is america's favorite fighting frenchmen?

“America’s favourite fighting Frenchman”, is a reference to the Marquis de Lafayette, in the song ‘Guns and Ships’, from the musical ‘Hamilton’. The Marquis de Lafayette was a French nobleman and military commander, who helped lead American forces to victory in the American Revolutionary War.