Does toothpaste go off?

Yes. Most toothpastes that contain fluoride have a two-year expiration date. This is because the ions in fluoride remain at their peak level of effectiveness for this time period. After this time fluoride can start to break down, putting your tooth enamel at risk from acid attack and decay.