What's a financial bond?

A bond is a fixed-income instrument, or document, that represents a loan made by an investor to a borrower. Bonds can be for a fixed or open term. Examples of bonds are war bonds, development bonds, savings bonds, agency bonds, municipal bonds, & corporate bonds.