What's the difference between sugar and jam sugar?

Jam sugar has bigger crystals than other sugars which has the effect of making the jam clearer and less cloudy. It also means the jam is less likely to burn or stick to the bottom of the pan and requires less stirring whilst cooking. Some jam sugar has added pectin which helps break down the fruit.