What number should a fridge be on?

It depends on the fridge, where it is installed, and how full it is. If you can use a thermometer, the fridge should reach a stable temperature between 1 and 4 degrees Celsius. If not, start at high power and reduce it gradually until a saucer of water at the back doesn't freeze overnight.