What is liar cell?

The Lia system, a cell envelope stress response module of Bacillus subtilis, is comprised of the LiaRS two-component system and a membrane-anchored inhibitor protein, LiaF. It is highly conserved in the Firmicutes bacteria, and all orthologs investigated so far are activated by cell wall antibiotics