Why is five hundred pounds called a monkey?

A Monkey is British slang for 500 pounds. This came from soldiers returning from India, where the 500 rupee note had a picture of a monkey on it. They used the term monkey for 500 rupees and on returning to England the saying was converted for sterling to mean 500 pounds.