Does gas weigh anything?

All gas has weight. If the weight of a given volume of gas is lighter than air, the gas will rise. If it is heavier, it will sink. Any given volume of helium is lighter than the same volume of air, which is why it is used in party balloons. Carbon dioxide is heavier than air, so it will sink.