How old do you have to be to own a b. b. gun?

A B-B gun is classed as an air weapon. It is an offence for a person under 18 to purchase or hire an air weapon or ammunition. It is an offence for anyone under 18 to have with them an air weapon or ammunition unless they are under the supervision of a person aged 21 or over.