What is x. x. x. v.?

The ancient Romans used "X" to stand for number ten. A row of 3 "X characters " translates as 10 + 10 + 10 meaning 30. The letter "V" was used for number 5 so your number X-X-X-V IN OUR SYSTEM means 10+10+10+5 . Answer - 35.