What year did one direction go on x. factor?

One Direction was formed by Simon Cowell during The X Factor in 2010. One Direction was formed when Louis Tomlinson, Niall Horan, Harry Styles, Liam Payne and Zayn Malik, who all auditioned as solo artists, were put together.