What does ten magpies mean?

A bird you must not miss! The lyrics have evolved and the modern version of the nursery rhyme is: "One for sorrow, two for joy, three for a girl, four for a boy, five for silver, six for gold, seven for a secret never to be told, eight for a wish, nine for a kiss, ten for a bird you must not miss."