What is soulsand?

Soul sand is a block in Minecraft that slows both mobs and players while walking on it, it is required to grow nether wart as nether wart cannot be planted on farmland; in appearance it is brown with what appears to be wailing faces on the sides; soul sand can sustain blue soul fire without burning.