Is hattie a word?

Hattie is a diminutive of Harriet. Harriet is the English form of the French Henriette which was coined in the 17th century as a feminine diminutive of the French Henri (English: Henry, Harry). As a diminutive form, then Hattie would mean “little mistress of the home” or “little ruler of the home”.