Why is david lloyd called bumble?

The cricketer, David Lloyd, is widely known as "Bumble" because of his facial similarity to the Bumblies. They were three friendly little aliens from the Planet Bumble. The Bumblies were characters from a 1950's children's puppet TV program by Michael Bentine, a Comic and Childrens TV producer.