What is the eye of the storm in fortnite battle royale?

The 'Storm Circle' is the white circle that appears on the Fortnite Battle Royale map, and it's this circle that gradually shrinks throughout the match, pushing all the players closer and closer together until someone emerges victorious from the hundred or so players who started out the game.