Why is the midlands called the black country?

The Black Country gained its name in the mid nineteenth century due to the smoke from the many thousands of ironworking foundries & forges plus the working of the shallow and 30ft thick coal seams. Despite this industrial past the Black Country has a long association with the arts and literature.