What is a rotten fart?

Foul-smelling flatulence is caused by hydrogen sulfide, which makes farts smell like rotten eggs or cabbage. Some gut bacteria, like Desulfovibrio & Desulfobulbus, produce hydrogen sulfide from amino acids in food, like cysteine & methionine. Digestive health problems can also cause bad wind.