How old do you have to be to ride a dirt bike?

The age groups for competitive riding are as follows: 4 to 6-year-olds would start with a 50cc Yamaha PW (often called a PeeWee) bike or similar. By around 8 years old they can ride a 65/80cc mini motocross machine. At age 10 kids can ride anything up to a 150cc 4 stroke, or 65/80cc two strokes