When did krakatoa blow up?

The biggest volcanic eruption in history occurred on Krakatoa, a small, uninhabited island located west of Sumatra in Indonesia, on August 27, 1883. Heard 3,000 miles away, the explosions threw five cubic miles of earth 50 miles into the air, created 120-foot tsunamis and killed 36,000 people.