How many dolphins are there in the sea?

There are 44 species of dolphin. Some species are nearly extinct. However, estimates give populations sizes between 4 million and 9 million dolphins of all species worldwide. Dolphin populations are difficult to track as they are not easy to follow and some dolphins are possibly whales.