What is the sound so bad?

Poor network performance, lack of memory or high CPU usage often causes the audio quality to drop, become delayed or sound robotic. Try closing all applications you aren't using to free up some bandwidth. If you're using a dial-up Internet connection with VoIP, it may cause poor performance.